The definitive sheet

Federal 1811 PT test standards.
Every agency, one page.

Every event, pass line, and form rule for the major federal agencies hiring 1811 criminal investigators. Compiled from official sources, maintained by a veteran federal criminal investigator who has taken more than one of these tests for real.

Last verified: August 25, 2026

The only exam with published answers

Every other gate in the federal hiring process keeps its scoring hidden. The PT test hands you the answers in advance: the events, the order, the minimums, the form specs, all published. That makes it the one part of this process that is entirely in your control, and the one where failing is entirely a preparation choice.

Why the standards differ, and why that matters to you

Each agency built its test around its own academy and its own job. Different events, different brackets, different form rules. If you are running multiple processes at once, and you should be, you are not training for a test. You are training for several, and the form spec that passes at one agency can fail you at another. I know because it happened to me.

The doctrine: make every test boring

The invitation email can arrive with days of notice, and academy PT is harder than any entrance gate. So the standard is not "pass." The standard is: every event on this page, for every agency on your list, feels boring. Scrape-the-minimum training is how people end up going home after they already quit their job.

All eight tests at a glance

Comparison of federal 1811 physical fitness tests by agency
Agency Test Events in official order Scoring Pass rule Brackets
FBI Physical Fitness Test (PFT) 1. Pull-ups or chin-ups > 2. 300-meter sprint > 3. Push-ups > 4. 1.5-mile run Point-scored At least 1 point in each of the four events and at least 10 points total. Walking during the 1.5-mile run = disqualification from that event and a -2 recorded. Male / Female scoring tables. No age brackets.
DEA Physical Task Assessment (PTA) - also called the Physical Task Test (PTT) 1. Sit-ups > 2. 300-meter sprint > 3. Push-ups > 4. 1.5-mile run Point-scored Full PTA: at least 1 point in each event and 12 points total. A -2 in any event is an automatic fail. Conditional-offer stage: 9 points with a zero allowed in one event (no negatives). Male / Female scoring tables. No age brackets.
ATF Pre-Employment Physical Task Test (PTT) 1. Sit-ups > 2. Push-ups > 3. 1.5-mile run Pass/fail minimums Meet the minimum for your age and gender in every event. No points, no total, no compensation between events. Male / Female; age 21-29, 30-39, 40+.
USMS USMS Physical Efficiency Battery (PEB) - the applicant fitness screening (the USMS prep material calls its program 'FIT') 1. Sit-ups > 2. Push-ups > 3. 1.5-mile run > 4. Sit & Reach (status unclear) Pass/fail minimums Pass the core events at the stated minimum for your age and gender. A Sit & Reach column appears in the official table; its pass/fail status is not explained. Male / Female; ages 20-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59.
HSI Pre-Employment Physical Fitness Test (PFT-P) 1. Sit-ups > 2. 220-yard sprint > 3. Push-ups > 4. 1.5-mile run Pass/fail minimums Meet every minimum. 'Failure to attain the designated minimum score for any PFT-P event constitutes failing the entire PFT-P.' Reps that do not meet protocol are not credited. Single standard - no age or gender brackets.
USPIS Physical Fitness Testing (PFT) - New Applicant and BIT Student Guidelines, June 2024 1. Push-ups > 2. Sit-ups > 3. 1.5-mile run Point-scored Meet the minimum in every event AND score at least 140 combined points on the 100-point-per-event chart (the 'Advanced Basic' group). Hitting only the minimums scores about 118, which fails - you must beat the floor somewhere. Male / Female. No age brackets.
USSS Applicant Physical Abilities Test (APAT) 1. Push-ups > 2. Sit-ups > 3. Illinois Agility Run > 4. 1.5-mile run Point-scored Each event scored 0-8. You need at least 20 points total with no zeros - an average of 5 per event. Scoring the 1-point minimum in every event (4 total) fails. Single scoring table - 'not specific to age and/or gender identity'.
FLETC Physical Efficiency Battery (PEB) 1. Body composition > 2. Illinois Agility Run > 3. Sit and Reach > 4. Bench press (1-rep max) > 5. 1.5-mile run Percentile (recognition tiers) Percentile-scored by gender and age. FLETC publishes recognition tiers, not a student cut score: 75th percentile in every category except body composition earns a Fitness Certificate; 90th earns Distinguished. A 2010 FLETC advisory standard (25th percentile on agility, bench and run) predicted training success; your agency may set its own PEB minimum. Male (24 and under through 60+) / Female (24 and under through 55+), five-year brackets.

CONFIRMED: Value read directly from an official agency page or PDF on the retrieval date. ESTIMATED: Not confirmable from a primary source: official page unreachable, protocol not published, or a third-party copy of an official chart. Treat as unverified.

FBI: Physical Fitness Test (PFT)

FBI - Federal Bureau of Investigation - Special Agent

PFT self-evaluation before the Meet and Greet; official PFT within 30 days after; again at Quantico (BFTC).

Read next: The FBI PFT changed: pull-ups in, sit-ups out.

FBI physical fitness test events, protocol, and minimum standards
# Event How it is run Minimum / 1-point standard Top standard
1 Pull-ups or chin-ups Untimed, continuous motion, maximum reps M 2-3 reps / F 1 rep M 20+ / F 10+
2 300-meter sprint Timed, standing start, stay in your lane M 52.4-51.1 s / F 64.9-62.5 s M 40.9 s or under / F 49.9 s or under
3 Push-ups Untimed, continuous motion, maximum reps M 30-32 / F 14-18 M 71+ / F 45+
4 1.5-mile run Timed, six laps of a quarter-mile track, no walking M 12:24-12:15 / F 13:59-13:35 M 8:59 or under / F 10:34 or under
Pass rule
At least 1 point in each of the four events and at least 10 points total. Walking during the 1.5-mile run = disqualification from that event and a -2 recorded.
Rest between events
No more than 5 minutes between events
Attempts / retest
Three opportunities after the Meet and Greet: first attempt within 30 days, all attempts within six months. Must also pass a PFT during Basic Field Training at Quantico.
Brackets
Male / Female scoring tables. No age brackets.
Recent change
Test changed in late 2025: sit-ups were removed, pull-ups/chin-ups became a mandatory scored Event 1, and the minimum total dropped from 12 to 10 points.
Full scoring tables (4)

Pull-ups / chin-ups (reps)

FBI Pull-ups / chin-ups (reps)
PointsMaleFemale
00-10
12-31
24-52
36-73
48-94
510-115
612-136
714-157
816-178
918-199
1020+10+

300-meter sprint (seconds)

FBI 300-meter sprint (seconds)
PointsMaleFemale
-255.1+67.5+
055.0-52.567.4-65.0
152.4-51.164.9-62.5
251.0-49.562.4-60.0
349.4-48.059.9-57.5
447.9-46.157.4-56.0
546.0-45.055.9-54.0
644.9-44.053.9-53.0
743.9-43.052.9-52.0
842.9-42.051.9-51.0
941.9-41.050.9-50.0
1040.9 or under49.9 or under

Push-ups (reps, untimed continuous)

FBI Push-ups (reps, untimed continuous)
PointsMaleFemale
-219 or under4 or under
020-295-13
130-3214-18
233-3919-21
340-4322-26
444-4927-29
550-5330-32
654-5633-35
757-6036-38
861-6439-41
965-7042-44
1071+45+

1.5-mile run (min:sec)

FBI 1.5-mile run (min:sec)
PointsMaleFemale
-213:30+15:00+
013:29-12:2514:59-14:00
112:24-12:1513:59-13:35
212:14-11:3513:34-13:00
311:34-11:1012:59-12:30
411:09-10:3512:29-11:57
510:34-10:1511:56-11:35
610:14-9:5511:34-11:15
79:54-9:3511:14-11:06
89:34-9:2011:05-10:45
99:19-9:0010:44-10:35
108:59 or under10:34 or under
Form and counting rules as published

Pull-ups / chin-ups. Hands no wider than two hand-widths outside the shoulders; chin-ups palms toward the face, pull-ups palms away. Arms fully extended at the bottom, chin higher than the bar at the top. No swinging, jerking, or using the legs. Not counted: kipping, chin not over the bar, not locking out, stopping between reps, not locking out before dismounting.

300-meter sprint. Standing start; run 300 meters (three-quarters of a lap). You may not change lanes or leave the track for any reason.

Push-ups. Front-leaning rest, hands one to two hand-widths outside the chest, elbows about 45 degrees from the body, feet no more than 3 inches apart, body straight. Lower until the upper arms are parallel to the floor; return to full lockout. Common faults listed by the FBI: not going all the way down, not locking out, hips sagging or too high, body resting on the floor, elbows flared 90 degrees.

1.5-mile run. Standing start, six laps of a quarter-mile track. Walking is not allowed: if you walk you are disqualified from the event and a -2 is recorded. Stay on the track; no pacing of others.

Marked ESTIMATED in the master sheet

  • Whether resting in the up position is permitted during the push-up event: the current FBI page does not say. Train as if any pause ends the count.
  • Whether you may switch grip (pull-up to chin-up) mid-set: not stated. Pick one grip and keep it.
  • Minimum waiting period between PFT attempts: not published.
  • The FBI changed this test in late 2025 (sit-ups removed, pull-ups added, minimum lowered from 12 to 10). Older guides and apps still show the sit-up version.

Source: FBI Jobs - Physical Requirements Overview and 7 more official sources in the master sheet

DEA: Physical Task Assessment (PTA) - also called the Physical Task Test (PTT)

DEA - Drug Enforcement Administration - Special Agent

First assessment in the hiring process (Phase 1 or 2 depending on the announcement), again before the final offer, and at the Academy.

Read next: The DEA PTA scoring chart, event by event, with what a passing 12 really looks like.

DEA physical fitness test events, protocol, and minimum standards
# Event How it is run Minimum / 1-point standard Top standard
1 Sit-ups 1 minute, continuous motion M 38 / F 35-36 M 58+ / F 57+
2 300-meter sprint Timed, standing start, stay in your lane M 52.4-51.1 s / F 64.9-62.5 s M 40.9 s or under / F 49.9 s or under
3 Push-ups Untimed, continuous motion, maximum reps M 30-32 / F 14-18 M 71+ / F 45+
4 1.5-mile run Timed, on a track of known length M 12:24-12:15 / F 13:59-13:35 M 8:59 or under / F 10:34 or under
Pass rule
Full PTA: at least 1 point in each event and 12 points total. A -2 in any event is an automatic fail. Conditional-offer stage: 9 points with a zero allowed in one event (no negatives).
Rest between events
No more than 10 minutes between events
Attempts / retest
Test Preparation Guide: two opportunities within 60 days of application; a second attempt is offered only if the first attempt clears published cut scores. At the Academy: PTA on Day 2 and again at Week 12; one retest at Week 6 if the first is failed.
Brackets
Male / Female scoring tables. No age brackets.
Recent change
Numeric scale unchanged since 2016. Hiring-stage thresholds changed July 28, 2022 (9 points at the conditional-offer stage; Week-6 Academy retest added; third Academy PTA eliminated).
Full scoring tables (4)

Sit-ups (reps in 1 minute)

DEA Sit-ups (reps in 1 minute)
PointsMaleFemale
-231 or under29 or under
032-3730-34
13835-36
239-4237-40
343-4441-42
445-4743-46
548-4947-48
650-5149-50
752-5351-52
854-5553-54
956-5755-56
1058+57+

300-meter sprint (seconds)

DEA 300-meter sprint (seconds)
PointsMaleFemale
-255.1+67.5+
052.5-55.065.0-67.4
151.1-52.462.5-64.9
249.5-51.060.0-62.4
348.0-49.457.5-59.9
446.1-47.956.0-57.4
545.0-46.054.0-55.9
644.0-44.953.0-53.9
743.0-43.952.0-52.9
842.0-42.951.0-51.9
941.0-41.950.0-50.9
1040.9 or under49.9 or under

Push-ups (reps, untimed continuous)

DEA Push-ups (reps, untimed continuous)
PointsMaleFemale
-219 or under4 or under
020-295-13
130-3214-18
233-3919-21
340-4322-26
444-4927-29
550-5330-32
654-5633-35
757-6036-38
861-6439-41
965-7042-44
1071+45+

1.5-mile run (min:sec)

DEA 1.5-mile run (min:sec)
PointsMaleFemale
-213:30+15:00+
012:25-13:2914:00-14:59
112:15-12:2413:35-13:59
211:35-12:1413:00-13:34
311:10-11:3412:30-12:59
410:35-11:0911:57-12:29
510:15-10:3411:35-11:56
69:55-10:1411:15-11:34
79:35-9:5411:06-11:14
89:20-9:3410:45-11:05
99:00-9:1910:35-10:44
108:59 or under10:34 or under
Form and counting rules as published

Sit-ups. Flat on your back, shoulder blades on the ground, knees at about 90 degrees, feet flat, partner holds the ankles. Hands crossed on the chest, each hand firmly on the opposite upper shoulder, and they stay there. Raise the torso until the elbows pass the tops of the knees (break the vertical plane), then lower until the tops of both shoulder blades touch the ground. No resting; all motion continuous. Not counted: hands leaving the shoulders, grabbing the shirt, elbows not crossing the knee plane, shoulder blades not touching, hips or buttocks lifting.

300-meter sprint. Standing start on 'On your mark' and a whistle. Hands may not touch the ground at the start (touching = failure of the event). Stay in your lane for the whole sprint (stepping into another lane = failure of the event).

Push-ups. Front-leaning rest, hands just outside a line straight down from each shoulder, feet no more than 8 inches apart, head-back-buttocks-legs in one line. Lower until the tops of the upper arms, shoulders and lower back are parallel to the ground (the administrator may put a fist under your chest); return to locked elbows. Unlimited time as long as motion is continuous. Not counted: body not straight, buttocks raised, knees/pelvis/stomach/thighs touching the ground, no lockout, not low enough, moving hands or feet.

1.5-mile run. Run on a track of known length; total elapsed time recorded in minutes and seconds.

Marked ESTIMATED in the master sheet

  • Which version applicants take: DEA's 2019 Test Preparation Guide (still posted) says the hiring-stage PTA is three events (no 300-meter sprint, 1.5-mile points doubled); the 2023 PTA Guide describes four events and never mentions the three-event variant. This plan trains all four events so you are covered either way. Ask your recruiter which version your division runs.
  • Male 300-meter 3-point boundary: 49.4 s in the 2023 guide, 49.5 s in the 2016 scale. Train below 48.0 to make it irrelevant.
  • Whether a pause in the locked-out position ends the push-up count: the guide says only 'no resting' and 'continuous'. Train as if any pause ends the count.
  • Whether walking is allowed on the 1.5-mile run: not published.

Source: DEA Physical Task Assessment Guide (Feb 2023, 508 version linked from the SA FAQ) and 4 more official sources in the master sheet

ATF: Pre-Employment Physical Task Test (PTT)

ATF - Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives - Special Agent

Hurdle 3 of Phase I, after the Special Agent Applicant Assessment. The same PTT is administered again in the first week of training.

ATF physical fitness test events, protocol, and minimum standards
# Event How it is run Minimum / 1-point standard
1 Sit-ups 1 minute, without stopping Min: M 40 / 36 / 31 - F 35 / 27 / 22 (ages 21-29 / 30-39 / 40+)
2 Push-ups 1 minute, without stopping, chest to a 4-inch foam block Min: M 33 / 27 / 21 - F 16 / 14 / 11
3 1.5-mile run Timed Max: M 12:18 / 12:51 / 13:53 - F 14:55 / 15:26 / 16:27
Pass rule
Meet the minimum for your age and gender in every event. No points, no total, no compensation between events.
Rest between events
3 minutes (packet) / 'only minimal rest' (PTT page)
Attempts / retest
None. 'ATF does not offer additional opportunities to take the PTT.' Missing your scheduled PTT removes you from the process.
Brackets
Male / Female; age 21-29, 30-39, 40+.
Recent change
No 300-meter sprint - that is the DEA and FBI format. Standards page last updated November 2024; surrounding pages refreshed in 2026 without changing the numbers.

Minimum standards by bracket

ATF Minimum standards by bracket
BracketSit-ups (1 min)Push-ups (1 min)1.5-mile run (max time)
Male 21-29403312:18
Male 30-39362712:51
Male 40+312113:53
Female 21-29351614:55
Female 30-39271415:26
Female 40+221116:27
Form and counting rules as published

Sit-ups. Flat on your back, knees bent at approximately 90 degrees, heels on the ground, partner holds the ankles, fingers interlocked behind the neck. Raise the upper body to vertical (your face must break the vertical plane), then lower until the shoulder blades touch the ground. That is one repetition. As many as you can in one minute without stopping.

Push-ups. Front-leaning rest, hands just outside a straight line down from the shoulders; back, buttocks and legs straight from head to heels. Lower until the sternum touches the 4-inch foam block, return to locked elbows. That is one repetition. You may only stop to rest in the upright push-up position.

1.5-mile run. Complete a 1.5-mile run as quickly as you can. No further protocol is published.

Marked ESTIMATED in the master sheet

  • Rest between events: ATF publishes both '3 minutes' (packet) and 'only minimal rest' (PTT page). This plan trains with 2 minutes so either is comfortable.
  • The 'higher' end-of-training PTT score mentioned in the packet is not quantified anywhere. The training page describes the FLETC PEB at the 25th percentile instead.
  • A 6-month waiting period to reapply after a failed PTT appeared in a 2023 announcement but not in 2025-2026 announcements.

Source: ATF - Pre-Employment Physical Task Test (last updated Nov 19, 2024) and 4 more official sources in the master sheet

USMS: USMS Physical Efficiency Battery (PEB) - the applicant fitness screening (the USMS prep material calls its program 'FIT')

USMS - United States Marshals Service - Deputy U.S. Marshal

Pre-employment fitness screening after the online assessment; again immediately prior to hire/academy; final week of academy; bi-annually in service.

USMS physical fitness test events, protocol, and minimum standards
# Event How it is run Minimum / 1-point standard
1 Sit-ups 1 minute Min: M 40 / 36 / 31 / 26 - F 35 / 27 / 22 / 17 (20s / 30s / 40s / 50s)
2 Push-ups 1 minute Min: M 33 / 27 / 21 / 15 - F 16 / 14 / 11 / 7
3 1.5-mile run Timed Max: M 12:18 / 12:51 / 13:53 / 14:55 - F 14:55 / 15:26 / 16:27 / 17:24
4 Sit & Reach (status unclear) Inches Min: M 17.5 / 16.5 / 15.3 / 14.5 - F 20.0 / 19.0 / 18.0 / 17.9
Pass rule
Pass the core events at the stated minimum for your age and gender. A Sit & Reach column appears in the official table; its pass/fail status is not explained.
Rest between events
Not published
Attempts / retest
'Applicants will get one chance to pass the fitness screening.' Must pass again immediately before training, and in the final week of the ~19-week academy to graduate. Bi-annual test for the rest of your career.
Brackets
Male / Female; ages 20-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59.
Recent change
No 300-meter run, agility run, or body-composition event appears on current USMS pages. Values are identical on the USMS Federal Enforcement Officer standards page.

Minimum standards by bracket

USMS Minimum standards by bracket
Bracket1.5-mile run (max)Push-ups (1 min)Sit-ups (1 min)Sit & Reach (in)
Male 20-2912:18334017.5
Male 30-3912:51273616.5
Male 40-4913:53213115.3
Male 50-5914:55152614.5
Female 20-2914:55163520.0
Female 30-3915:26142719.0
Female 40-4916:27112218.0
Female 50-5917:2471717.9
Form and counting rules as published

Push-ups (USMS training-guide description; official test protocol not published). Hands about shoulder-width, fingers forward, straight back throughout. Lower until the chest contacts a fist or object roughly 3 inches high, return to full elbow lockout - 'if you fail to lock the elbows completely the repetition will not count.' Rest only in the up position; the self-assessment version stops you if you hold the up position more than 2 seconds.

Sit-ups (USMS training-guide description). On your back, knees bent, heels flat, fingers laced behind the head. Up: elbows touch the knees. Down: shoulder blades touch the floor. Whether the feet are anchored is not stated.

1.5-mile run. Name and minimum times only. No course, start, or walking rules are published.

Sit & Reach. Minimum distances only. No box protocol, attempts, or pass/fail status is published.

Marked ESTIMATED in the master sheet

  • Event order and rest intervals: not published. This plan assumes sit-ups, push-ups, run and 3-minute rests; it also rehearses the run first in Week 4 in case your site runs it that way.
  • Form and counting rules for the official test are not published; the descriptions used here come from the USMS training guide, which defers to an unlinked 'USMS FIT Program' document. Train to the strictest reading: fingers laced behind head, elbows to knees, shoulder blades down; push-ups to a 3-inch marker with full lockout.
  • Sit & Reach: listed in the official table but not named among the 'three core' events. Its pass/fail status is unknown; the plan includes daily flexibility work as cheap insurance.
  • The expansion 'Fitness-In-Total' for 'FIT' appears only on third-party sites, not on usmarshals.gov.
  • Women 50-59 Sit & Reach value (17.9 in) is transcribed exactly as published; it breaks the 1.0-inch pattern and may be a typo on the USMS page.

Source: USMS - Deputy U.S. Marshal Fitness Standards and 4 more official sources in the master sheet

HSI: Pre-Employment Physical Fitness Test (PFT-P)

HSI - Homeland Security Investigations (ICE) - Special Agent (Criminal Investigator)

After the tentative selection letter, within 90 days before FLETC; again during basic training (three times across CITP and HSISAT).

HSI physical fitness test events, protocol, and minimum standards
# Event How it is run Minimum / 1-point standard
1 Sit-ups 1 minute Min 32
2 220-yard sprint Timed Max 47.73 s
3 Push-ups 1 minute Min 22
4 1.5-mile run Timed Max 14:25
Pass rule
Meet every minimum. 'Failure to attain the designated minimum score for any PFT-P event constitutes failing the entire PFT-P.' Reps that do not meet protocol are not credited.
Rest between events
No more than 5 minutes between events
Attempts / retest
Two opportunities; the second attempt within 45 calendar days of the first. Two failures removes you from the announcement (reapply after one year); three consecutive failures across announcements = ineligible. A passing PFT-P is valid 90 days and must be current on arrival at FLETC. Same test, same standards, during training.
Brackets
Single standard - no age or gender brackets.
Recent change
220-yard sprint, not 300 meters. The 2025 press stories about '15 push-ups, 32 sit-ups, 14:00' concerned ERO Deportation Officer academy classes, not HSI Special Agents.

Minimum standards (all applicants)

HSI Minimum standards (all applicants)
EventStandard
Sit-ups (1 min)32 or more
220-yard sprint47.73 s or less
Push-ups (1 min)22 or more
1.5-mile run14:25 or less
Form and counting rules as published

All events. The handbook states that 'participants will not receive credit for repetitions performed that do not meet the established protocols' and refers to the HSI PFT Brochure (Appendix B) for the detailed protocols. That appendix is image-only in the public PDF, so the exact hand positions, depth standard and rest rules could not be captured from a primary source.

How this plan handles it. Train to the strictest common federal standard so any grader's count matches yours: sit-ups with hands crossed on the chest (or fingers laced behind the head if your test administrator says so), elbows to the thighs, shoulder blades to the ground, partner holding the feet; push-ups with hands just outside the shoulders, chest to a 3-4 inch marker, full lockout, rest only in the up position; sprint from a standing start; run without walking.

Test-site rules. Exercise clothing and running shoes; test may be outdoors. No gum, watches, phones, music players or headphones. Bring the signed consent form, your physician's medical release, and government photo ID.

Marked ESTIMATED in the master sheet

  • Exact form and counting rules: the handbook's Appendix B protocols are scanned images and could not be read. Ask your recruiter for the HSI PFT Brochure and train to it.
  • The live ice.gov and dhs.gov PFT pages could not be retrieved (HTTP 403). The standards above are from the 2022 handbook and match the 2026 announcements; the handbook itself warns that if requirements change before your test, the new requirements apply.
  • ICE's Criminal Investigator page still carries legacy text about a three-part kneel/stand, push-up and step test. That is the old ERO test, not the HSI PFT-P.

Source: ICE Handbook HSI 22-05, Physical Fitness Testing for HSI Special Agent Selectees and Trainees (July 19, 2022) and 3 more official sources in the master sheet

USPIS: Physical Fitness Testing (PFT) - New Applicant and BIT Student Guidelines, June 2024

USPIS - U.S. Postal Inspection Service - Postal Inspector

Initial test administered with the Assessment Center visit; periodically during Basic Inspector Training.

Read next: USPIS PFT standards, the 140-point combined floor, and the manual treadmill question.

USPIS physical fitness test events, protocol, and minimum standards
# Event How it is run Minimum / 1-point standard Top standard
1 Push-ups 1 minute, chest to about 3 inches from the ground Min: M 29 (34 pts) / F 10 (36 pts) 100 pts: M 62 / F 42
2 Sit-ups 1 minute, hands across chest, elbows to upper thighs Min: M 30 (50 pts) / F 22 (42 pts) 100 pts: M 55 / F 51
3 1.5-mile run Timed, six laps or a measured 1.5 miles Max: M 15:46 (34 pts) / F 17:54 (39 pts) 100 pts: M 9:10 / F 10:20
Pass rule
Meet the minimum in every event AND score at least 140 combined points on the 100-point-per-event chart (the 'Advanced Basic' group). Hitting only the minimums scores about 118, which fails - you must beat the floor somewhere.
Rest between events
Minimum 1 minute, maximum 5 minutes between events
Attempts / retest
Two opportunities. Fail two consecutive attempts and you are removed from the process (you may reapply). A passing score is valid one year. During the 16-week academy you must pass one of the first three tests and Test 4.
Brackets
Male / Female. No age brackets.
Recent change
June 2024 revision cut applicant attempts from three to two. Third-party sites still quoting 'three attempts' or the old 'FAST' name are out of date.

Ability Group Score Chart (anchor rows)

USPIS Ability Group Score Chart (anchor rows)
PointsPush-ups MPush-ups FSit-ups MSit-ups FRun M
100624255519:10
905737504610:10
805232454111:10
704727403612:10
604222353113:10
50371730 (MIN)2614:10
4233132622 (MIN)14:58
403212252115:10
39-----
363010 (MIN)231915:34
3429 (MIN)-221815:46 (MIN)

Ability groups (combined score)

USPIS Ability groups (combined score)
GroupCombined score
Level 1 - Basic0-139 (fail)
Level 2 - Advanced Basic140-179 (pass)
Level 3 - Intermediate180-219
Level 4 - Advanced220-259
Level 5 - Elite260-300
Form and counting rules as published

Push-ups. Hands shoulder-width on the ground, feet together or apart and fully extended, body in a straight line from shoulders to ankles. Lower until the chest is approximately three inches from the ground, then return to full arm extension. Failure to maintain form (straight body, chest to about 3 inches, full extension) does not count as a full repetition.

Sit-ups. On your back, hands across the chest, shoulder blades on the ground, knees bent, partner holds the feet. Raise the upper body toward the thighs in a crunching motion; the elbows must touch the upper thighs before lowering; the shoulder blades must touch the ground at the bottom. Improper form does not count.

1.5-mile run. Six full laps of a high-school track ending at the start, or a measured 1.5 miles on an alternate course. You are responsible for counting your own laps; the PFT Coordinator settles discrepancies. Failing to complete the full distance is an automatic failure of the run and the PFT.

Marked ESTIMATED in the master sheet

  • Sub-minimum rows of the score chart could not be verified cell-by-cell; they do not affect pass/fail because any sub-minimum event fails the test.
  • Whether resting positions are allowed inside the one-minute push-up and sit-up periods, and whether walking is allowed on the run, are not published. Train as if neither is allowed.
  • Chart step sizes used in this plan's targets: 2 points per rep for push-ups and sit-ups; 2 points per 12 seconds (men) and per 15 seconds (women) on the run.

Source: USPIS PFT Guidelines for Applicants and BIT Students, June 2024 (PDF) and 2 more official sources in the master sheet

USSS: Applicant Physical Abilities Test (APAT)

USSS - United States Secret Service - Special Agent

Phase I of hiring, after the SAEE written exam and before the interview. Separate, independent fitness assessments during training at FLETC (week one baseline and about four weeks before graduation: minimum 6 points with at least 1 point in three of four events).

USSS physical fitness test events, protocol, and minimum standards
# Event How it is run Minimum / 1-point standard Top standard
1 Push-ups 1 minute, one trial, chest to a foam block 15-16 8 pts: 44+
2 Sit-ups 1 minute, one trial 23-28 8 pts: 50+
3 Illinois Agility Run Two trials, best trial scored, prone start 23.88-22.18 s 8 pts: 18.64 s or under
4 1.5-mile run Timed, one trial; walking or stopping permitted but the clock runs 19:40-16:53 8 pts: 12:01 or under
Pass rule
Each event scored 0-8. You need at least 20 points total with no zeros - an average of 5 per event. Scoring the 1-point minimum in every event (4 total) fails.
Rest between events
Not published
Attempts / retest
Not published on current official pages. A 2014-era document said applicants could retake after six months; treat that as unconfirmed.
Brackets
Single scoring table - 'not specific to age and/or gender identity'.
Recent change
No chin-ups, sit-and-reach, or 300-meter run in the current APAT - the four-component version with the Illinois Agility Run has been in place since at least 2013.

APAT scoring (all applicants)

USSS APAT scoring (all applicants)
PointsPush-ups (1 min)Sit-ups (1 min)Illinois Agility (s)1.5-mile run
014 or less22 or less23.89 or higher19:41 or higher
115-1623-2823.88-22.1819:40-16:53
217-1929-3022.17-21.6616:52-16:09
320-2231-3321.65-21.1316:08-15:26
423-2634-3621.12-20.6015:25-14:43
527-2937-4120.59-20.2314:42-14:12
630-3742-4520.22-19.4414:11-13:07
738-4346-4919.43-18.6513:06-12:02
844 or more50 or more18.64 or lower12:01 or lower
Form and counting rules as published

Push-ups. Feet 8 to 12 inches apart, hands slightly wider than shoulder width, arms straight; legs, buttocks, back and shoulders in straight alignment. Lower until the elbows are at 90 degrees - your chest must touch a foam block placed under it - then straighten the elbows. As many as possible in 60 seconds; you are told at 30 and 15 seconds remaining. One trial.

Sit-ups. On your back, knees at 45-75 degrees, feet flat, heels 12-18 inches from the buttocks, a second person holds your feet. Arms crossed over the chest, hands on the opposite shoulders near the collarbone, arms in contact with the chest at all times, chin tucked. Curl up until the elbows touch the thighs; lie back until the mid-back touches the mat before the next rep. 60 seconds, one trial.

Illinois Agility Run. Start on your stomach, fingertips at the start line in a quasi push-up position, ankles together, on the balls of the feet. On command, get up and run 30 feet to the far cone and back to the middle cone, weave left through the center cones and back, then turn left, run to the far-right cone and back across the finish. Follow the marked course. Two trials, best scored.

1.5-mile run. Marked hard, flat surface with minimal sharp turns, indoors or out. You may walk or stop, but the timer does not stop. One trial.

Marked ESTIMATED in the master sheet

  • Rest intervals between APAT events: not published. This plan trains with 3-minute rests and rehearses the run after the agility trials.
  • Retest policy: not published on current pages. The six-month rule is from a 2014 document.
  • Illinois course cone spacing: the official form references a diagram that could not be read; the plan uses the standard 30-foot by 15-foot layout with four center cones 10 feet apart. Confirm the layout at your test site.

Source: USSS - Applicant Physical Abilities Test (APAT) and 4 more official sources in the master sheet

FLETC: Physical Efficiency Battery (PEB)

FLETC - Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers - Criminal Investigator Training Program (CITP) student

During CITP (59 training days); your agency's recruitment standards and the FLETC Physical Performance Requirements must be met before arrival.

FLETC physical fitness test events, protocol, and minimum standards
# Event How it is run Minimum / 1-point standard
1 Body composition 3-site skinfold (M: chest, abdomen, thigh; F: tricep, hip, thigh) F <25, 75th pct: 19.96% fat
2 Illinois Agility Run Prone start; 30-ft sprints and a 4-obstacle weave; timed to hundredths F <25, 75th pct: 18.21 s
3 Sit and Reach Static reach, calves on the floor, quarter-inch increments F <25, 75th pct: 23.25 in
4 Bench press (1-rep max) Single fulcrum bench, 5-lb increments, scored as % of body weight F <25, 75th pct: 66.7% of body weight
5 1.5-mile run Six laps of a quarter-mile track F <25, 75th pct: 13:27
Pass rule
Percentile-scored by gender and age. FLETC publishes recognition tiers, not a student cut score: 75th percentile in every category except body composition earns a Fitness Certificate; 90th earns Distinguished. A 2010 FLETC advisory standard (25th percentile on agility, bench and run) predicted training success; your agency may set its own PEB minimum.
Rest between events
Not published
Attempts / retest
Not published. Your hiring agency's policy governs.
Brackets
Male (24 and under through 60+) / Female (24 and under through 55+), five-year brackets.
Recent change
Score charts appear to be based on data through FY2017. The five components have not changed. The fletc.gov CITP page still lists a 2017 curriculum review and 2018 reaccreditation.
Full scoring tables (17)

Female 24 and under (official)

FLETC Female 24 and under (official)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9024.7577.612:0517.4714.97
7523.2566.713:2718.2119.96
4020.7553.815:5619.6025.24
2519.5048.517:1720.3128.05

Female 25-29 (official)

FLETC Female 25-29 (official)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9024.5079.712:1217.6016.80
7523.0068.013:3218.4120.16
4020.5053.616:0719.9225.72
2519.2548.317:3320.7028.55

Female 30-34 (official)

FLETC Female 30-34 (official)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9024.0078.012:2718.0017.08
7522.5066.014:2118.9020.67
4020.0051.617:1920.5326.89
2518.7546.318:4421.4529.96

Female 35-39 (official)

FLETC Female 35-39 (official)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9024.0074.212:4518.2018.00
7522.0063.414:2019.1621.72
4019.5049.917:1721.0128.10
2518.0044.819:0022.0131.15

Female 40-44 (official)

FLETC Female 40-44 (official)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9023.5073.213:1518.6618.62
7522.0061.0514:5719.7322.71
4019.2547.618:1621.8029.10
2517.7543.219:4322.9632.22

Female 45-49 (official)

FLETC Female 45-49 (official)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9022.7566.714:0819.4819.22
7521.2557.0815:5020.8023.31
4018.5046.118:5322.8329.78
2517.2541.520:1024.0232.26

Female 50-54 (official)

FLETC Female 50-54 (official)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9022.0060.914:3720.2221.41
7520.7554.116:4021.7225.33
4017.7543.0420:2424.5132.18
2516.2538.9821:5126.2434.90

Female 55 and above (official)

FLETC Female 55 and above (official)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9023.2559.2415:4221.3021.83
7521.0050.7517:1022.7524.97
4018.0039.8821:1126.2030.84
2515.5034.3023:0929.0033.44

Male 24 and under (ESTIMATED - third-party copy of FLETC FY2017 chart)

FLETC Male 24 and under (ESTIMATED - third-party copy of FLETC FY2017 chart)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9023.00147.29:5715.698.04
7521.25-21.50128.710:5216.2011.08
4018.50100.612:3417.1916.74
2517.00-17.2589.913:3417.7019.61

Male 25-29 (ESTIMATED)

FLETC Male 25-29 (ESTIMATED)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9022.75-23.00147.110:0715.809.06
7521.00-21.25127.811:0316.3412.34
4018.25-18.50100.012:4817.3718.05
2517.0089.213:5117.9020.79

Male 30-34 (ESTIMATED)

FLETC Male 30-34 (ESTIMATED)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9022.75141.010:2416.0410.60
7520.75-21.00121.511:2116.6213.91
4018.00-18.2595.213:1317.7019.32
2516.75-17.0085.414:2018.2821.86

Male 35-39 (ESTIMATED)

FLETC Male 35-39 (ESTIMATED)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9022.25-22.50136.410:3716.2711.61
7520.75117.011:4016.8814.84
4017.75-18.0091.713:4217.9920.01
2516.25-16.5082.414:5418.5922.62

Male 40-44 (ESTIMATED)

FLETC Male 40-44 (ESTIMATED)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9021.75-22.00128.111:0116.6513.09
7520.00-20.25107.712:1817.3116.19
4017.00-17.2584.214:4118.5221.25
2515.7576.015:5519.2023.73

Male 45-49 (ESTIMATED)

FLETC Male 45-49 (ESTIMATED)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9021.75120.3811:3817.0713.84
7519.75100.612:5517.8916.93
4016.7579.315:2819.2221.85
2515.00-15.2571.416:4919.9124.31

Male 50-54 (ESTIMATED)

FLETC Male 50-54 (ESTIMATED)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9021.25110.512:1017.5314.57
7519.25-19.5093.913:4018.3217.50
4016.0073.416:2220.0022.42
2514.7566.517:4620.8324.89

Male 55-59 (ESTIMATED)

FLETC Male 55-59 (ESTIMATED)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9020.75101.5813:0718.0315.53
7518.25-18.5085.9514:3319.1218.32
4015.0067.6417:2521.0322.81
2513.5062.518:5521.9925.13

Male 60 and above (ESTIMATED)

FLETC Male 60 and above (ESTIMATED)
PercentileSit & Reach (in)Bench (% body wt)1.5-mile runAgility (s)Body fat (%)
9020.2594.6313:1618.5814.97
7518.0079.2515:0419.9118.47
4014.25-14.5063.018:0721.9123.31
2512.0057.5819:5622.8026.82
Form and counting rules as published

Illinois Agility Run. Lie prone on the floor. Get up and sprint 30 feet and return; negotiate four obstacles covering a 30-foot area and return through them; finish with another 30-foot sprint and return. Timed to hundredths of a second.

Sit and Reach. Sit on the floor in front of the measuring device and bend at the waist, pushing the block down the device. The stretch must be static and the calves must remain in contact with the floor. Measured to the quarter inch.

Bench press. One repetition on a single fulcrum bench, pressing the weight straight up until the arms are locked out. Measured in 5-pound increments and scored as a percentage of your body weight.

1.5-mile run. Six laps of a quarter-mile track, measured in minutes and seconds.

Body composition. Three-site skinfold with calipers (men: chest, abdomen, thigh; women: tricep, hip, thigh), calculated as percent body fat. This plan does not address body composition; that is a separate subject.

Marked ESTIMATED in the master sheet

  • Male percentile tables: the official fletc.gov bracket pages returned HTTP 403; the male values in the spreadsheet come from a third-party copy of the FLETC FY2017 chart and are marked ESTIMATED. Open the fletc.gov male pages in a browser to confirm before relying on them.
  • Female table labels: values are confirmed from fletc.gov; the mapping of the eight tables to age brackets follows page order (values decline with age) and is a high-confidence inference.
  • Whether the PEB is pass/fail for CITP students, and at what percentile: not published by FLETC. Your agency sets the requirement (ATF, for example, cites the 25th percentile on the three critical events during its own academy).
  • Administration order, rest intervals, attempt counts, sit-and-reach box geometry and exact agility cone spacing are not published.
  • The bench press requires a bench and barbell, which breaks the minimal-equipment rule. The plan gives a weighted push-up / floor-press substitute and one optional gym session per week.

Source: FLETC - Physical Efficiency Battery (PEB) and 6 more official sources in the master sheet

PT test questions, answered straight

Which federal agency has the hardest PT test?

There is no single answer, because the tests measure different things: some agencies weight running hardest, others weight upper-body events, and scoring brackets shift by age and gender. The honest move is to compare the tables on this page against your own weakest event, because the hardest test is the one that hits your gap.

Do federal PT standards differ by age and gender?

At most agencies, yes: minimums are set by age-and-gender brackets, so a 24-year-old and a 44-year-old are not chasing the same numbers. Always read the bracket table for your own row, and check the source link, because brackets are the part agencies revise most often.

What happens if you fail a federal PT test?

During hiring, a failure typically ends that application, though some agencies allow a retest window. At the academy it is more forgiving than people expect: instructors will genuinely work with you to get you across the line. The unforgiving part is that an academy failure comes after you already quit your job, which is why you never train to the minimum.

How often do agencies change their PT standards?

Irregularly, and usually quietly: a form spec change or a new bracket table can appear with little announcement. That is why every section on this page links the official source and carries a verified date. Trust the announcement in front of you over anything older, including this page.

Should I train to the minimum passing score?

No. The entrance test is the easiest physical event of your federal career: you will be retested in the first week of the academy, and academy PT is harder than the gate test. Train until every event on your target agencies list is boring, then keep that level through the silent months of the process.

Is the PT test the same as the academy fitness program?

No. The PT test is a gate with published minimums; the academy is months of daily conditioning that assumes you arrived comfortably above those minimums. Passing the gate by two push-ups and arriving at the academy is how people get recycled or sent home.

Why do form standards matter as much as the numbers?

Because graders count to a published specification, not to your gym habits: hand position, depth, cadence. I failed an agency push-up test years ago because their grader counted differently than I had trained. Train in the exact form your target agency publishes, not the form that feels natural.

Which PT test should I train for if I am applying to several agencies?

All of them at once: build one program whose benchmarks sit above the toughest requirement across every agency on your list, in each event category. Applicants running multiple processes get PT invitations with days of notice, so the answer is permanent readiness, not per-agency cramming.

Take it with you

Every agency's PT test. One sheet.

Download the one-sheet (free)

No spam. Insider breakdowns, a few times a month. Privacy policy.

Cite this page: 1811 Blueprint — Federal 1811 PT Test Standards, updated August 25, 2026. https://1811blueprint.com/pt-standards/